The Hills State Emergency Services celebrated its 50th anniversary in March with an awards ceremony marking the enormous contribution the service and its members provide the Hills district.
Among the recipients was Keith Grant, 82, who was awarded for his 50 years of service, and Neil Gall, 74, who was awarded for 44 years of service to the organisation.
Among the attendees were federal member for Mitchell, Alex Hawke, Castle Hill MP Ray Williams, and Berowra MP Julian Leeser, alongside Hills mayor Michelle Byrne.
Mayor Michelle Byrne said, “The Hills Shire is forever grateful for the wonderfully co-ordinated approach of the SES in disasters, and we recognise the hours of training that go into fully equipping each volunteer to deal with these situations.
“Some members of The Hills branch of the SES have been with the organisation since its inception in our community, and their immense dedication to helping others in times of need should be applauded.
“Last year, the Hills experienced a number of severe storms which damaged homes, cars and property. The Hills SES was fully operational day-in and day-out, with more than 1,800 requests for assistance during this time.
“Congratulations to the many volunteers who make up the unit – every hour you give of your own time to our community contributes to making a real and very valuable difference to people’s lives.”
Current Local Controller, Evelyn Lester, was mentioned in the 2018 Australia Day honours list for her dedication and commitment to the Hills SES.